To find a district click and navigate on our interactive map!


There are currently 222 churches in the U.S. Conference, including multi-campuses. They are divided into five districts with one additional church in Georgia. These five districts are: Central District Conference, Eastern District Conference, Latin America MB District Conference, Pacific District Conference and Southern District Conference.

The Mennonite Brethren first came to North America in the 1860s and by 1909 the number of churches had grown large enough that they organized into districts. Canada was the Northern District, the north central U.S. states (North and South Dakota, Nebraska, Minnesota, Montana, Illinois) were the Central District and the Midwestern states (Kansas, Oklahoma, Colorado, Arkansas, Texas) were the Southern District. The districts worked together as the General Conference of MB Churches. In 1954 the General Conference reorganized as the Canadian Conference of Mennonite Brethren Churches and the U.S. Conference of Mennonite Brethren Churches were established. The districts in the U.S. retained their names of Central and Southern Districts. As the U.S. Conference grew, additional districts were added: Pacific District Conference, Latin America MB District Conference and North Carolina District Conference (now the Eastern District Conference.)

Most Mennonite Brethren immigrants were farmers and when they first came to the U.S., they migrated to the farmlands because they were offered free land in the central states, North Dakota down through Oklahoma. Other Mennonite groups settled in places like Pennsylvania, Ohio and Indiana. In the early 1900s, California became the "promised land" for Mennonite Brethren, while Washington and Oregon also proved a popular place to relocate in the early decades of the 20th century.


Find a Church